Parsnip and Cumin Crackers

I felt like making something savoury, but of course still vegetably! Inspired by Madeleine Shaw’s ‘Get the Glow’ book I adapted the ingredients to what I had and was very pleased with the results. I love the cumin flavour but it is so easy to substitute the vegetable or herbs and spices to make alternatives.

DSC_0218.JPG

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

100 g grated parsnip

150 g rice flour

1 tbsp cumin

1 tsp ground black pepper

2 eggs

3 tbsp melted coconut oil

1 tsp Himalayan salt

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C and put a sheet of greaseproof paper on a baking tray.

Peel and grate the parsnip in to a bowl and leave to the side.

Melt the coconut oil and whisk together with the eggs until well combined and light in colour. (Make sure the coconut oil has cooled down before combining it with the eggs).

In a separate bowl combine the grated parsnip, flour, pepper and cumin.

DSC_0195

Pour the whisked eggs and coconut oil into the dry mixture and combine. You may need to add a drop of water to ensure it forms a dough like ball.

Sprinkle a little rice flour on the work top, take half of the mixture at a time and roll it out thinly. Use a knife to cut out the crackers, I made long rectangular ones, but it’s up to you how you want them!

Pop them on the baking sheet and sprinkle with the Himalayan salt.

DSC_0204.JPG

Bake for 7-8 minutes, then turn them over and bake for another 7-8 minutes.

I served the crackers with a little apple, plum and cumin chutney and a cheeky slice of avocado, they were DELICIOUS! I should have taken photos of them with the chutney and avocado but we got carried away eating them!

DSC_0215DSC_0218DSC_0220

Happy Baking!

Instagram: #thesweetvegcompany

Facebook: The Sweet Veg Company       https://www.facebook.com/SweetVegCompany/

 

4 comments

  1. Can’t wait to try these, love your blog and pics carry on baking you have inspired me and I love the parsnip cupcakes def a favourite in our house!! How’s the kitchen aid? Lol Caroline x

    Like

    • Thank you Caroline! Kitchen aid is fantastic – I’ve got a spiralizer attachment for it now which I can’t wait to use! I’ll bring some cakes round next time I’m back, always appreciate the feedback from tasters! X

      Like

      • That sounds great cake a coffee and a chat is always good, it would be nice to see you again. Your mum came round today for a chat and coffee she’s a really lovely friend and so very kind and caring… I guess she told you about my beloved Star… Your mum gave me some beautiful tulips and a card which was very thoughtful I’m a lucky girl to have found you both, your a girl after my own heart baking and horses with a bit of travel thrown in!!!! You stick at it I know your mum is very proud of you and it was a privilege to have met you… Keep baking much love X

        Like

      • Mum said she had popped round, we were both so sad to hear about Star, words can’t explain it.

        I’ve heard the plans for a certain birthday cake… Mum and I were thinking up some ideas for it yesterday which I’m sure she will share with you soon.

        Look forward to catching up, I want to hear about what you have been baking too – I’m glad we’ve got so much in common! Much love x

        Like

Leave a Reply

