Courgette and Coconut Cupcakes

Another courgette recipe! A couple of years ago I would never have dreamed of making a cake with courgette and here I am now making them all too often! But as I am testing out these sugar alternatives I want to work with a vegetable that I have baked with a lot, so I guess you could say I trust it (plus its handy that I had one in the fridge).

IMG_1256

These cupcakes are so, so good. They are yummy, fat-free, gluten-free AND I have used xylitol instead of sugar. Now, this doesn’t mean that there is no sugar in them as xylitol is still a form of sugar but with 40% less calories than actual sugar. Great news! I would recommend googling xylitol so you can see why it is much better than regular sugar.

IMG_1266

Ingredients – makes 12 cupcakes

2 eggs

120 g xylitol

80 g courgette

1 tsp vanilla extract

100 g white rice flour

100 g desiccated coconut

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

pinch salt

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 160°C and line a cupcake tin.

In a large bowl whisk the eggs and gradually add the sugar. Whisk for a few minutes until light in colour and texture.

Finely grate the courgette and stir in along with the vanilla essence.

Measure and add the flour, coconut, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt directly to the wet mixture. Fold in these ingredients until fully incorporated.

Divide the mixture between the cupcake cases and pop in the oven for around 18 – 20 minutes.

IMG_1284

And here are the results….

IMG_1289

Happy Baking x

Leave a Reply

